WP Theme Review: Irresistible


WooThemes is one of the best and most popular places to purchase premium WordPress themes. The current theme I’m using is called Fresh News which I purchased from WooThemes. Aside from premium WordPress themes, once in a while the folks from WooThemes also release free WordPress themes to the public. The latest free WordPress theme they released is called the Irresistible theme, designed by Izuddin Helmi.

Irresistible is a visually-rich personal blog, with a little bit of a multimedia focus. Incorporating some nifty video-options and widgets, Irresistible should meet all of your personal blogging needs. Just add your content to the mix.

Basic Features:

  • 2 columns
  • Widget-ready
  • Flickr support
  • Integrated banner ad management
  • Integrated video player
  • 9 colour schemes

Screenshots:

Irresistible Blue
WP Theme Irresistible

Irresistible Purple
WP Theme Irresistible

Irresistible Green
WP Theme Irresistible

Irresistible Red
WP Theme Irresistible

My Take:
The Irresistible WordPress theme like the theme author described it, is a visually-rich theme and has all the qualities of a premium theme except that its free. Although this theme was designed primarily for personal blogs, I’m pretty sure other types of blogs would be able to use this theme with a little modification/customization. This theme is widget-ready and is packaged with some custom widgets that lets the user have full control with the sidebar.

WooThemes has included the PSD file with the theme package. With the help of Adobe Photoshop, you can basically edit/customize almost any part of the theme’s design and graphics. If you don’t have Photoshop, you can probably ask a friend who has it to do the editing/customizing for you.

If you plan to use the Irresistible theme, make sure you have the skills necessary to tweak WordPress themes. or have a friend who can help you because this is a free theme and it doesn’t include theme support from WooThemes. If you don’t mind shelling out some money, you can always purchase support from WooThemes.

Overall, the Irresistible theme is a very good WordPress theme suited for personal blogs. It’s got almost all aspects of an ideal WordPress theme covered – widget-ready, integrated banner ad management, integrated video player, lifestream, 9 colour schemes and PSD file making it a highly customizable theme.

Preview or Download the Irresistible WordPress theme.

Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter.

27 Comments

  1. Adam

    November 2, 2012 at 4:43 PM

    can you get photos to show up in the myphotos area w/o using flickr? i dont like flickr.

  2. F^^CK

    August 4, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    Can anyone put a video on the ‘my video’ widget? I’m breaking my head looking all around in the settings and can’t find it.

  3. Marcelle

    March 16, 2010 at 6:10 PM

    I’m looking to add my Flickr file & it’s not working. I got my ID entered, but I’m not getting the right URI in… or does that say URL? Either way I’d love your help!

    Thanks =)

  4. Tharindu

    January 30, 2010 at 6:38 AM

    hi

    i am trying this theme but for some reason video is not working. it says have to insert a tag called video. can you please help me how to do it ?

  5. Feđa

    November 26, 2009 at 4:52 AM

    Hello to all, i have problem with my photos and my video to this theme. I made a flickr account and everything but i seem not get something right becouse myphotos and my videos are not shoving. Please help

  6. Prashanrth

    October 28, 2009 at 6:35 PM

    Its a wonderful theme with crazy amount of customizations. But,I am not able to enable the ‘myvideo’ option. Any kind of help would be appreciated.

  7. JP Habaradas

    July 5, 2009 at 8:05 PM

    @joseph – Hi there! Sorry for the late reply. I was out on a blogging hiatus for 2 months and its only now that I was able to catch up with old comments. I visited your blog and see that you’re already using the theme. So what happened earlier? Did you figure out what caused the theme not to show up after activating it?

    Anyways, cool blog you have there. Keep up the good work and more power to you! :)

  8. joseph

    July 5, 2009 at 8:02 PM

    how do i install the theme? i recently placed the folder under wp-content/themes/ then made a preview on it, but it shows nothing, and when i activated it still no luck.

    please help, if you could, thank you.!

    josephs last blog post..ARCHOS 9 PC-Tablet is Running Windows 7

  9. Joseph Rose

    March 23, 2009 at 8:34 PM

    How do I edit the “favblog” list of links? I just can’t seem to find it.

  10. JP Habaradas

    March 15, 2009 at 7:25 PM

    @elmot – Yeah it can be tweaked. As I mentioned earlier, the PSD file is included so you can customize the design using Adobe Photoshop. :)

  11. elmot

    March 15, 2009 at 7:21 PM

    i like the theme, but just like jan, i want a white background, or a light blue…could the background color be tweaked?

    elmots last blog post..Comic Strip Friday

  12. JP Habaradas

    March 13, 2009 at 10:35 AM

    @archondigital – Good to see and hear from you again my friend! Yeah, I noticed you haven’t blogged that much lately and I assumed you were busy with work. Hope everything’s okay with you and your work. Anyways, looking forward to your next blog posts. :D

  13. archondigital

    March 13, 2009 at 10:31 AM

    nice theme

    I definitely will have a use for it on one of my upcoming projects

    I miss blogging a lot and would really want to get back to it if I wasn’t so busy.

    archondigitals last blog post..Google Pagerank Update and First Quarter Plans for 2009

  14. JP Habaradas

    March 13, 2009 at 7:50 AM

    @Raju – Indeed. I also like the lifestream section a lot. Great for bloggers who are active on Twitter and other social networks. :D

  15. Raju

    March 13, 2009 at 7:45 AM

    It surely looks great for a personal blog, especially the lifestream section!

    Rajus last blog post..[Firefox Friday] Live Streaming Video Download Plugin

  16. JP Habaradas

    March 13, 2009 at 5:10 AM

    @Gem – You mean the Preview link? I guess the name “Irresistible” really works. Hehe :D

  17. Gem

    March 13, 2009 at 5:09 AM

    I could not resist clicking the link above. I think it is a uniquely designed theme and I would love to use that on personal blogs .. well I’m running a bunch of personal blogs anyway.

    I’m in love again.. with this theme’s design.

    Gems last blog post..Positive Energy for Friday the 13th

  18. JP Habaradas

    March 13, 2009 at 4:45 AM

    @jan – The theme has 9 color schemes and one of it is grey but a lil bit on the darker side but the theme package includes the PSD file so the background color/image can be easily changed to any color you want. :)

  19. jan

    March 13, 2009 at 4:40 AM

    It would take some wooing to get me on board with this one. I can’t quite put a finger to it, but let me guess – the background color? Do they have one in white or pale gray? I’m so exacting to the point of absurdity here. It’s a free theme after all. :)

    jans last blog post..Finding the Right Balance Between Social Media and Productivity

  20. JP Habaradas

    March 12, 2009 at 8:55 PM

    @deuts – Me too! Is blue your favorite color? Anyways, do you like it enough to use it as your new blog theme? :D

  21. deuts

    March 12, 2009 at 8:52 PM

    I like the blue one!

  22. JP Habaradas

    March 12, 2009 at 4:10 PM

    @skiper – Are you gonna use it on your blog or a personal blog? Let me know when you use this theme so I can go and take a look at it. Thanks for stopping by. :)

  23. skiper

    March 12, 2009 at 4:07 PM

    looks nice, i’ll try to use it, ill try to place adsense ads, sana maganda ang maging placement. Ill test this if ok ang ctr.

    thanks

    skipers last blog post..Online Menu Philippines Update

  24. JP Habaradas

    March 12, 2009 at 9:10 AM

    @K – Yeah, the name of the theme fits it very well – Irresistible. Well, if you want some challenge, you can change the look and design because the PSD file is included in the theme package. :D

  25. K

    March 12, 2009 at 9:08 AM

    Looks sweet, irresistible indeed BUT (sounds like I am opposing here) I am not convinced with the overall design, personally kasi parang it looks so perfect, wala ka ng pwedeng gawin or alisin or dagdagan, ndi challenging for me, hahaha.

  26. JP Habaradas

    March 11, 2009 at 6:30 PM

    @jhay – Is it a personal blog or a niche blog? You seem to have a lot of blogs. :D

    Yeah, I noticed that you haven’t updated or posted much lately. Is it because of school related activities? Well I hope you get your blogging groove back. :D

  27. jhay

    March 11, 2009 at 6:29 PM

    It’s a nice theme, nearly considered using this on my other blog, but I’m still undecided. :D

    A lot of changes have been happening to me lately, and my blogging has been affected. But I’m positive that once I get a hold of things it would be able to come back with something exciting and worthwhile.

    jhays last blog post..Movie Trailer: Terminator Salvation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code class="" title="" data-url=""> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <pre class="" title="" data-url=""> <span class="" title="" data-url="">