WP Theme Review: Rebel Magazine



The Rebel Magazine theme is free magazine style WordPress theme created by Filipina WordPress theme designer and Netrepreneur Chiq Montes of WPThemeDesigner.com.

Basic Features:

  • 2 columns
  • Right sidebar
  • Widget-ready
  • CSS compliant
  • Works on Firefox, IE 7 & Opera

Screenshot:
Rebel Magazine Theme

My Take:
Honestly, the first time I saw this theme it reminded me of the WP Premium theme by R. Bhavesh. I guess it’s probably because of how the RSS icon and search box is designed and positioned at the header. But nevertheless, the Rebel Magazine theme is a unique theme on its own and personally, I really like this theme and even thought about using it here on JaypeeOnline.

The Rebel Magazine theme’s design is simple yet pleasing to the eyes making it appealing to many WordPress users. As a matter of fact, it has already been downloaded 1,501 times at the time this review was being written.

I’m not a fan of widgets but for those of you who are, you’ll be glad to know that this theme is already widget-ready. Aside from that, the Rebel Magazine doesn’t require any plugins so you can use this theme right out of the box. I haven’t had the chance to install this theme and look under the hood but from the looks of it, customizing this theme won’t be to difficult. You can easily change the look, layout and style of this theme to your liking and for that reason, I think we’ll be seeing many customized versions of this theme soon.

Another feature I like about this theme is the 125×125 banner ad integration which makes it easy for bloggers like me who run this type of banner ads. All you have to do is edit the name of the banner, then edit the link or URL it’s pointing to and it’s good to go.

Hats off to Chiq for a beautiful and well designed WordPress theme! Looking forward to more good quality themes like these from WPThemeDesigner. Overall, the Rebel Magazine theme offers WordPress users a free, good quality magazine style theme that is functional and highly customizable. I give the Rebel Magazine a 4 out of 5.

Preview or Download the Rebel Magazine Theme for WordPress.

Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter.

22 Comments

  1. Baka Kelana

    February 14, 2009 at 9:11 PM

    Great….Fantastic
    An extraordinary work that truly make the wordpress blog wonderstruck

    Baka Kelanas last blog post..Love Letters Generating excite sex

  2. Debbie

    June 21, 2008 at 8:11 AM

    Another feature I like about this theme is the 125×125 banner ad integration which makes it easy for bloggers like me who run this type of banner ads. All you have to do is edit the name of the banner, then edit the link or URL it’s pointing to and it’s good to go.

    I was wondering if anyone had a more detailed description of this. I’m going to my widgets and attempting to change this but seem pretty sure that’s the wrong way to do it.

    I think I can edit the url it’s pointing to in Dreamweaver and upload that to my site via ftp, but it’s the “edit the name of the banner” part that kind of throws me.

    All help is appreciated.

    Debbies last blog post..Nursery Cat

  3. JP Habaradas

    June 10, 2008 at 11:00 PM

    @Ian – A beautiful theme indeed. I’m sure it will look good on your blog. :)

  4. Ian

    June 10, 2008 at 10:49 PM

    Really nice theme. I like it, and am going to test it out on my blog.

    Ians last blog post..Spun out

  5. JP Habaradas

    May 31, 2008 at 4:20 AM

    @acnerdz – Thanks for asking. I totally forgot to mention that this theme is FREE. :)

  6. acnerdz

    May 31, 2008 at 4:16 AM

    mas mura ba yan kumpara sa revolution theme

  7. JP Habaradas

    May 29, 2008 at 7:00 AM

    @Ambo – Yes, ChiQ really did a good job with this theme. I’m sure we’ll be seeing more good themes like these from ChiQ. :D

  8. Ambo

    May 29, 2008 at 6:58 AM

    Great looking theme! Congrats ChiQ!

    Ambo’s last blog post..Manila Ocean Park Visit

  9. JP Habaradas

    May 28, 2008 at 8:30 PM

    @dimaks – Yes, it really looks neat. Cool, let me know when you’ve launched this project of yours. Maybe I can promote it here too. :D

  10. dimaks

    May 28, 2008 at 8:25 PM

    looks so neat.. i see a potential theme for another blog i have in mind hehe. the color theme is simple but yes, as you said, “pleasing to the eyes”.

    dimaks’s last blog post..Before anything goes rolling

  11. JP Habaradas

    May 28, 2008 at 11:30 AM

    @Egghub – Haha really? Well, it’s a good thing right? Coz if I didn’t do this review, you might haven’t seen this theme or would’ve taken a while before you did. Anyways, you’re welcome! :D

  12. Egghub

    May 28, 2008 at 11:24 AM

    Just because of this, I’m changing my theme on another project!

    Thanks for this. Kudos!

  13. JP Habaradas

    May 28, 2008 at 7:20 AM

    @joie – You’re welcome! Glad that you liked this theme review. Yes, it definitely feels good to be back blogging. :D

  14. JP Habaradas

    May 28, 2008 at 6:45 AM

    @jhay – Hehe I thought you downloaded it for your blog. Which project is it? Are you gonna use it straight out of the box or are you gonna customize it?

  15. jhay

    May 28, 2008 at 6:41 AM

    Downloaded it! :lol:

    Finally found a new theme for a new project of mine.

    jhay’s last blog post..Cleaning up my digital world: saving myself from e-junk & clutter

  16. joie

    May 28, 2008 at 7:15 AM

    Thanks for posting a review for that theme.. Glad your back blogging..:D

    joie’s last blog post..Jaxith Jez Turn 2 months Today

  17. JP Habaradas

    May 28, 2008 at 12:00 AM

    @trench – I guess you really like the premium theme you bought huh? Well it does look good and you did a good job customizing it. :D

  18. JP Habaradas

    May 27, 2008 at 8:50 PM

    @Dexter – Thanks for pointing that out. This is a rare instance coz I always double check links. I guess I was very sleepy when I edited/published this post. :)

  19. Dexter

    May 27, 2008 at 8:47 PM

    Youve got a broken link for WPThemeDesigner.com.

    Dexter’s last blog post..How to Take Advantage Power of Google Alert

  20. JP Habaradas

    May 27, 2008 at 8:25 PM

    @ChiQ – You’re welcome! You really did a good job with this theme and I hope my review was good enough. ;)

  21. ChiQ Montes

    May 27, 2008 at 8:04 PM

    Thank you so much for featuring the theme jaypee!! :)

  22. trench

    May 27, 2008 at 11:56 PM

    Great looking theme. If I was in need of a free theme for my site, I’d definitely jump on this one.

    trench’s last blog post..Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (Theaters)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *