WP Theme Review: Revolution



Early this month, Brian Gardner hinted on his blog about an upcoming project called Project X. It was supposed to be a WordPress theme that can make your blog look like a website while remaining as a fully functional blog. Brian Gardner is a well known WordPress theme author and designer. His works include the current blog theme used by The Blog Herald and numerous public WordPress themes like Vertigo, Navigate, Tapestry, Blue Zifandel and Silhouette which is the theme I use here in JaypeeOnline.

Last week he announced the release of Revolution WordPress theme. This theme is geared for people who would like to use WordPress as a CMS (Content Management System).

Screenshot:
WP Theme Revolution

The Revolution WordPress theme is ideal for: online newspapers, online magazines, church websites, real estate agents, corporate blogs, personal blogs, photo blogs, celebrity blogs, affiliate marketing, WordPress MU users.

Basic Features:

  • XHTML & CSS standards compliant
  • Works out of the box. No plugins required
  • Tested on IE 6 & 7, Firefox
  • Multi-column

Revolution is a premium WordPress theme, therefore it is not free for download and you’ll have to purchase it. The theme is currently available in two packages. The Personal Package which costs $59.95 is for the blogger who wants to use this theme for personal blogs and websites. With this package, the customer may use it as many times as they want as long as it’s for personal use and that the credits remain intact in the footer.The Developer Package priced at $249.95, is for web designers or webmasters who want to use the theme as a base for their client’s websites. With this package, the user may remove the footer credits but will have to pay a license fee for each subsequent use. The author also plans to release a Blog Package which may cost around $19.95.

Users who will purchase the theme will also have unlimited access to resources like theme support, tutorials, additional stylesheets and background images.

My Take:
The release of Revolution could start a new trend on premium WordPress themes and a new market of affordable and highly customizable WordPress themes. I like what I see and I’m curious to know more about this theme and what it can do. If Brian decides to release the Blog Package, I might get one for myself. Btw, I give the Revolution a 4.5 out 5.

Preview or Purchase the Revolution WordPress theme.

Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter.

25 Comments

  1. Gem

    May 24, 2009 at 4:17 AM

    Again, I got here straight from Google. I was looking for an entirely free WordPress theme that is very similar to that of Brian Gardner’s premium themes.

    I could not find the download link to the said “free” Revolution theme that’s mentioned around (I think the blue one). Can you lead me to the download link or any other theme? Thanks a lot.

    Gems last blog post..MyMovees: Watch the Movies You Want Online

  2. JP Habaradas

    May 9, 2008 at 10:35 AM

    @Web design – Thank you! I haven’t tried WP Remix myself so I can’t give/make a review of it. Maybe you can share your opinion/experience once you’ve worked on it for your clien’ts website.

  3. Web design for small business

    May 9, 2008 at 10:33 AM

    Nice review. I am thinking of using WPREMIX for my client. Thanks

  4. JP Habaradas

    November 23, 2007 at 4:30 AM

    @snehal – Thanks for the info! It’s good to see new themes and new options. :)

  5. snehal

    November 23, 2007 at 4:25 AM

    seems like there is a competition upcoming in market. check the site http://wpremix.com/home/

  6. JP Habaradas

    August 30, 2007 at 6:07 PM

    @trench – It’s all good man! Let us know how the theme works and your experience using/customizing it. :)

  7. trench

    August 30, 2007 at 8:01 AM

    Dude, I bought both the blog and CMS version ($60.00). Good stuff. I didnt read this comment yuo made before then! SORRY MAN!! :sad: :sad:

  8. JP Habaradas

    August 24, 2007 at 7:19 PM

    @trench – That’d be cool! I’m sure it would look good on both Shoyoroll and 7milesdown. Btw, make sure you click on the “Purchase” link here in my post when you’re gonna purchase Revolution, okay? ;)

  9. trench

    August 24, 2007 at 6:07 PM

    I’m probably going to be using this as a CMS for my SHOYOROLL.com site and then later for 7milesdown for my movie reviews. This works perfectly. I’ll be purchasing the $60.00. Maybe sometime next month! Really good find Jaypee.

  10. JP Habaradas

    August 24, 2007 at 8:26 AM

    @trench – I know, same here. But I still can’t decide whether I should get one or not. :D

  11. trench

    August 24, 2007 at 7:28 AM

    wow, I’d use this in a heartbeat. Paying for a theme however with so many free ones is not optimal at this moment. Im bookmarking the site however for future reference!

  12. JP Habaradas

    August 24, 2007 at 12:11 AM

    @dimaks – Our type of WordPress theme right? Hehe :D

  13. dimaks

    August 23, 2007 at 1:31 AM

    very neat and very professional looking.

  14. JP Habaradas

    August 22, 2007 at 7:10 PM

    @gbert – I’m sure you can afford it and even if you’re the type who likes to change the look of his blog theme often, you can change the color scheme, background image and stuff w/o changing the theme itself. That’s what’s nice about Revolution because the moment you purchase it, you’ll have access to different resources that you can use to customize it. :)

    Yeah, too bad we couldn’t meet up. Anyways, maybe in October. Have a safe trip and God bless!

  15. gbert

    August 22, 2007 at 4:02 PM

    i think i like this theme very much pero kung baklon ko pa, i agree, i have to think twice, basi after a few months lang, i’ll get tired of it…

    puli na ko sat.. i really had a blast here sa texas.. ara ka gali sa new jersey no? sayang abi ko ra ka l.a. puwede ta pa ka tani makadtuan.. hehe

  16. JP Habaradas

    August 22, 2007 at 2:00 PM

    @Brian – Thanks for taking the time to drop by and informing us about the update! I’m sure a lot of WordPress users would be happy to know about the release of the Blogger package. :)

  17. Brian Gardner

    August 22, 2007 at 1:07 PM

    Guys, I have updated the purchase page to explain better what the blogger package includes. Jaypee is correct, that the blogger download only includes the Single Pages.

  18. JP Habaradas

    August 22, 2007 at 12:41 PM

    @J David – Thanks! I always keep track of developments in Brian’s blog since he’s the author of the theme I’m using.

    I agree with you. This will definitely start a new trend for these types of WordPress themes. :)

  19. J David

    August 22, 2007 at 12:29 PM

    I have been looking for a quality magazine style theme for a while now! Great find, Jaypee!

    I bet that we will soon see a wave of these types of themes, but of a free variety.

  20. JP Habaradas

    August 22, 2007 at 10:30 AM

    @deuts – If you go and visit the demo page of Revolution, you’ll find the Single Page and Single Page 2 options. I’m guessing that’s what you get in the Blogger Package.

  21. deuts

    August 22, 2007 at 9:51 AM

    I wish though he has a demo for the blogger package.

  22. JP Habaradas

    August 21, 2007 at 12:41 PM

    @jhay – I’m sure you can afford it! Hehe :D

    What’s keeping me from purchasing this theme is the thought of losing interest with it after a couple of months. If it’s a free theme, you won’t mind changing it right away.

  23. jhay

    August 21, 2007 at 8:30 AM

    I love the theme! Too bad I can’t afford it, just yet. ;)

    It looks similar to the new theme of ProBlogger.net by Darren Rowse.

    From your-average-blog to a super blog. lolz

  24. JP Habaradas

    August 21, 2007 at 3:00 AM

    @deuts – The Blogger Package is now available for $19.95 so you can buy it for yourself. I also plan to get one but I’m still not sure. :)

  25. deuts

    August 21, 2007 at 2:39 AM

    Hmmmm, this could be the theme that I really wanted…. :lol:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.