WP Theme Review: Amazing Grace



Here’s a simple, neat and fresh looking theme from Vladimir Prelovac. You might have a hard time pronouncing or remembering the author’s name but I’m sure you won’t have a hard time liking this theme. Amazing Grace as the theme name goes, is Vladimir’s first WordPress theme. Not bad for a first time if you ask me. Are you wondering why he named his theme like that? He got it from the title of one of his favorite songs, a gospel song entitled Amazing Grace.

Screenshot:

WP Theme Amazing Grace

Basic features:

  • Optimized for speed and loading time
  • SEO optimal titles
  • SEO optimal page layout and headings
  • XHTML/CSS valid
  • Customized 404 page
  • Link to admin menu from home page
  • 3 column theme
  • Integrated Social bookmark buttons
  • Integrated Multi Page widget (http://www.taragana.com/site/)
  • Prints parent category in title
  • Incoming Google image searches are expanded to site
  • Integrated Chunk URL (http://www.village-idiot.org/)
  • Adsense ready

My Take:
I love this theme! If I had a personal blog, I’d use this theme right away. Btw this theme is not only for personal blogs because it’s SEO optimized, Adsense ready and includes social networking support which are ideal features for a niche blog.

The two level navigation is also a nice integration into this theme because it can save space and provide a way for the user to highlight the important categories of the blog. Vladimir also made two very good choices: the color scheme and the font types. The colors used in Amazing Grace has a cool and soothing effect to the eyes and the font types are easy to read. It’s also widget-ready which makes it appealing to more WordPress users. One more thing I love about this theme is how fast it loads. As mentioned earlier, the author optimized it so it loads faster than a regular theme would.

The Amazing Grace WordPress theme is easy to install and if you have a basic knowledge of HTML and CSS, you’d be able to customize this theme to your liking. I love this theme so much I give it a 4.5 out of 5. Excellent work Vladimir and we hope you make more WordPress themes soon.

Do you like this theme and consider using it on your blog? Why or why not? If you’re already using this theme, what made you decide to use it?

Preview or Download the Amazing Grace theme for WordPress.

Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter.

20 Comments

  1. @toddjir

    March 31, 2011 at 9:08 PM

    I totally agree, this theme is awesome no matter how you look at it. The SEO benefits are great also. I have used this theme on several of my websites and blogs. It's clean and it really does produce well in the serps. I highly recommend this theme!

  2. vinsensius gonzales

    December 19, 2009 at 8:40 AM

    hello, i liked this theme, but there is some problem, it doesn’t have single.php, i want to install plugin that need single.php, is there any solution for this situation?

  3. JP Habaradas

    September 13, 2009 at 6:40 PM

    @limwc – Hi! First of all, this isn’t my theme. It was created by somebody else and I just reviewed it. Second, where did you get the theme from? I checked your blog and saw the “buy tadalafil” link. Its either you downloaded the theme from a “shady” source or your blog has been recently compromised and someone inserted those spam links into your theme file.

    You’ll need to edit the header.php file using any text editor and remove the code that displays that spam link.

  4. limwc

    September 13, 2009 at 6:36 PM

    hi your theme i get a “buy tadalafil ” on the top of the screen. do you know what happen.

  5. JP Habaradas

    August 31, 2008 at 4:50 PM

    @Kathy – How do you find WordPress so far? Good choice with the theme. Personally, I like neat and fresh looking themes and designs thats why I made a review of Amazing Grace. Your blog looks good already. Were you able to incorporate Adsense already? Anyways, you’re most welcome! :D

  6. Kathy Berman

    August 31, 2008 at 4:45 PM

    I moved my 4 year blog from blogware and used Amazing Grace. I love the clean, fresh design and have added 29 widgets so far and I’m not finished yet. Still need to add my AdSense. Thanks for the chance to share. Kathy

    Kathy Bermans last blog post..Retrain Your Brain

  7. JP Habaradas

    August 21, 2008 at 7:45 PM

    @Jon – The theme looks very nice on your blog. Good job with the modifications. Your blog is very neat and organized. Thanks for sharing! :)

  8. Jon

    August 21, 2008 at 7:44 PM

    I love the Amazing Grace theme. I use a modified version of the theme on my blog, Moongrabber, and it really helped me to organize things (and the 2nd category menu is an awesome bonus!).

    Jons last blog post..Moongrabber Re-Design and a Server Move

  9. JP Habaradas

    January 25, 2008 at 6:25 PM

    @jhay – Yeah, the color scheme does have a slight resemblance but regarding the layout, Copyblogger has the content in between the two sidebars. Oh well, like you said it depends on the eye of the beholder. :)

  10. jhay

    January 25, 2008 at 6:20 PM

    It’s the color scheme, the fonts used and the layout that reminds me a lot of CopyBlogger’s theme. Maybe it’s just me, but that’s what I see. :mrgreen:

    jhay’s last blog post..The FEJ Theme Reboot

  11. JP Habaradas

    January 24, 2008 at 4:30 PM

    @jhay – I agree it kinda looks like Matt’s because of the photos in the header but I don’t see any similarity with Copyblogger. Maybe you can explain why you had that impression. Anyways, you got that right. It is a pretty theme. :)

  12. jhay

    January 24, 2008 at 3:27 PM

    It gives me the impression that it’s a cross between Matt’s and Copyblogger’s blogs. Neat, elegant and simply beautiful.

  13. JP Habaradas

    January 24, 2008 at 3:14 PM

    @K – Yeah I visited your blog and saw you using that theme already. Oh well, if the shoe doesn’t fit, don’t force it. :)

  14. K

    January 24, 2008 at 2:31 PM

    Jaypee, I tried it a few minutes ago and the ‘shoe didn’t fit”. :shock:

  15. JP Habaradas

    January 24, 2008 at 1:05 PM

    @K – You’re welcome! Hope you have fun on your special day! I saw that you’re already using it on your blog. That was fast! :D

  16. K

    January 24, 2008 at 1:03 PM

    Hi Jaypee thanks for the bday greetings.

    This theme is nice and simple, I will have to try this.

  17. JP Habaradas

    January 24, 2008 at 1:40 AM

    @Vladimir – You’re welcome! This theme deserves a good review. Btw, I appreciate you taking the time to drop by and add my review to Amazing Grace’s page. :)

  18. Vladimir

    January 24, 2008 at 1:35 AM

    Thanks Jaypee for this great review. I’ve added your article to the reviews section on the theme’s page.

    Cheers
    Vladimir

  19. JP Habaradas

    January 23, 2008 at 6:55 PM

    @insinto – Let me know when your new blog or EJ’s blog is online, ok? :)

  20. insinto

    January 23, 2008 at 6:51 PM

    i kinda like this theme..neat, decent, hmmm..what else…looks good! I think I will try it in my new blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *