WP Theme Review: Mimbo 2.0


Magazine styled WordPress themes like the Revolution are getting pretty popular these days so I decided to review another one.

The theme I’m reviewing today was created by Darren Hoyt, an experienced web designer and developer and is called the Mimbo 2.0.

Mimbo is a magazine-style WordPress theme which makes extensive use of WP’s template tag system to create a non-traditional layout. It contains no images and only minimal CSS styling. Mainly it exists as a clean, grid-based starter layout for designers to install and style to their own liking.

Screenshot:
WP Theme Mimbo 2.0

IMPORTANT:This theme is built to work on WordPress 2.3+. If you’re using an older version of WP, most likely you’ll encounter problems or errors which means you’ll have to upgrade your WP installation. Also, make sure you read the installation and configuration instructions before you implement this theme on your blog.

My Take:
I’m sure many WP users would like to use the Mimbo 2.0 theme not only because of it’s good design but also it’s 100% FREE. Even with its many sections and content, the main page looks organized and not clattered. Although the Mimbo 2.0 was created for online magazines or online newspapers, I don’t see why any reason why it can’t be used for a personal blog. With a few modifications and customizations here and there, I’m sure it will work.

One drawback to the Mimbo 2.0 theme is that it requires the user to edit/modify several files and lines of code before it can be used. Because of that, newbies or WP users who have little or no background in CSS or HTML would have a hard time using this theme. However, it’s possible to ask the help of a friend, a fellow blogger or maybe the theme author with the editing and modification of the theme. One more thing, sorry to disappoint widget lovers but this theme is not yet widget-ready.

EDIT:
Was just contacted by the author himself Darren Hoyt, informing me that the latest release of Mimbo 2.0 is widget ready.

Overall, I give the Mimbo 2.0 a 4 out of 5. Great job Darren and looking forward to more WP themes from you!

Preview or Download the Mimbo 2.0 theme for WordPress.

Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter.

23 Comments

  1. aswin

    February 1, 2011 at 2:18 AM

    A Good Theme …
    Presently I cutomized default twentyten theme…
    I will migrate to this

  2. ramzkie

    February 3, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    yes, i used it.. its good. i apply it on my site, http://www.livestreamshow.com. it’s cool!

  3. JP Habaradas

    January 29, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    @gamzter – Yeah, your new theme looks really good on your blog. Good job! :)

  4. gamzter

    January 29, 2009 at 10:00 PM

    oh really sir..anyways contento na ako sa theme ko ngayon..hehe…thanks!

    gamzters last blog post..The inauguration of Barack Obama *LIVE*

  5. JP Habaradas

    January 28, 2009 at 8:05 AM

    @gamzter – The Mimbo 2.0 theme is widget-ready. I made a correction on my post after the theme author, Darren Hoyt told me that the theme was widget-ready. :)

  6. gamzter

    January 28, 2009 at 8:02 AM

    oh man..not widget ready…

    gamzters last blog post..The inauguration of Barack Obama *LIVE*

  7. JP Habaradas

    December 5, 2007 at 12:50 PM

    @fak3r – I assume that you have some background or basic knowledge of HTML that’s why you didn’t have any problems customizing the theme. Anyways, I dropped by your site and the theme looks good on your blog.

    Just one thing though, you might want to adjust the middle column width and make it wider so the images won’t stick to the right column. Either that or your edit and make your images smaller. Just a suggestion. Thanks for the comment and for dropping by. :)

  8. fak3r

    December 5, 2007 at 12:46 PM

    I’ve migrated to mimbo and love it – the customizing wasn’t hard, but now that 2.2 is available, updating is going to be interesting. Still, I’m sold on this, it’s what my site needed, and allows me to present relevant content as lead stories, features or top posts from a category…very flexible! I haven’t played with the colour yet, but will soon.

    http://fak3r.com

    f

  9. JP Habaradas

    December 4, 2007 at 8:05 AM

    @benj – I see that you’ve already changed your blog’s theme/layout unless I’m too outdated that you’ve had that theme for a long time. Magazine type themes are really popular these days. :)

  10. benj

    December 4, 2007 at 8:00 AM

    This is tempting. Ive been wanting to rid my blog of clutter.

  11. Mikko

    November 26, 2007 at 4:45 PM

    I love this theme! Got to use this on future projects!

  12. JP Habaradas

    November 22, 2007 at 9:25 PM

    @trench – You’re welcome! Let me know when you’ve implemented this theme, okay? :)

  13. trench

    November 22, 2007 at 9:23 PM

    This is definitely a top notch theme! Going to use it for a future project! THanks for the review JP.

  14. JP Habaradas

    November 20, 2007 at 10:20 AM

    @Darren – You’re most welcome! Thanks for dropping by! :D

  15. Darren

    November 20, 2007 at 10:15 AM

    Thanks for the review, JayPee :razz:

  16. JP Habaradas

    November 18, 2007 at 2:20 AM

    @Teejay – How about now? Do you like Magazine styled themes? It is a good alternative if you want a free theme. Revolution on the other hand is a premium theme because you get like an hour of consultation with the author and other extra stuff.

  17. Teejay

    November 18, 2007 at 2:15 AM

    I have not cared about magazine styled themes before . This is probably a good alternative to the paid theme, Revolution.

  18. JP Habaradas

    November 16, 2007 at 12:30 PM

    @McBilly – Thanks man! I’m also planning to use a Magazine style theme for my next theme. Let me know when you’ve launched your project and when you’ve used this theme. You’re welcome! :)

  19. McBilly

    November 16, 2007 at 12:28 PM

    Hey Jaypee. Nice review. Magazine style themes are really getting popular nowadays. I might even give this one a try for future projects. :)

    Thanks for sharing the theme Jaypee.

  20. JP Habaradas

    November 15, 2007 at 11:30 PM

    @Euri – You’re welcome! So are you gonna use this theme for your blog? :)

  21. Euri

    November 15, 2007 at 11:26 PM

    Cool theme. Just what I wanted. ^_^ thanks!

  22. JP Habaradas

    November 14, 2007 at 6:20 PM

    @FruityOaty – I’m sure a lot of bloggers would like this theme because it’s nice and also because it’s FREE! :D

  23. FruityOaty

    November 14, 2007 at 6:16 PM

    That is a nice theme and I’ve been seeing it a lot lately on many blogs recently… i.e. Paolo Mendoza @ khoops.com/blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code class="" title="" data-url=""> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <pre class="" title="" data-url=""> <span class="" title="" data-url="">