BlueHost Phishing Email

BlueHost Phishing Email

22 Jan 2009 ·

Web Hosting


Phishing Email

I received an interesting email earlier today from the PinoyBlogosphere mailing list. It was from a blogger named Louie and it was about an email he supposedly received from his hosting provider BlueHost asking him to update his account to avoid suspension. As soon as I saw the subject of the email, I knew it was something phishy. Here’s the email:

Dear Customer,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your account information.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

http://www.bluehost.com/

If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to access your account will become restricted.

© 2003-2009 BlueHost.Com. All Rights Reserved

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.

When I hovered my mouse of the link http://www.bluehost.com, the URL it was pointing to was not Bluehost’s URL but instead a domain with a ru extension – http://www.uralitel.ru//img/bluehost.htm. My suspicions were correct, this was a phishing email trying to get BlueHost customers to login to this phishing site and provide their login details. Phishers usually use scare tactics to trick potential victims. In this particular email, they try to scare the user with the subject line “Update Your Account To Avoid Suspension”.

Below are screenshots of the original Bluehost website and the bogus phishing site.

BlueHost website
BlueHost

Phishing website
BlueHost

The phishing site seems to have some issues with the images but as you can see, it was designed to look exactly the same as the real BlueHost website to fool potential victims and make them think they’re really logging in to BlueHost.

If you’re currently a BlueHost customer, be careful of this certain email. I’m sure Louie is not the only BlueHost client who received or will be receiving this email. Phishing emails are very common nowadays and I receive a lot of them supposedly from PayPal, Amazon, eBay, etc and turn out to be a phishing email.

As a safe practice, in case you receive an email from your hosting provider or any site that asks you to update your account details or login via a link on the email, DO NOT click on the URL/link provided in the email. Instead, open your browser and type in the URL yourself and login from there. Its always good to practice safe computing and always better to be safe than sorry. Btw, in case you accidentally logged in to the phishing site with your account details, inform the legit site about it and if possible, ask them to change all your account details, especially the username and password to avoid your account being compromised.

I’m blogging about this to spread awareness regarding this type of phishing emails and so that BlueHost clients and other hosting provider’s clients would be more careful when dealing with these types of emails.

Anyone who’s on BlueHost and have received this email recently? Were you able to detect that it was a phishing email?

[image credit: Stephanie Creelman]


Subscribe to JaypeeOnline's RSS feed  Share this on del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Digg this!  Share this on Facebook  Tweet this!  Share on FriendFeed  Bookmark It!  Submit to Reddit!  Email this story to a friend!
Written by Jaypee Habaradas
Owner and editor of JaypeeOnline. Self-proclaimed geek. New media writer and consultant. WordPress advocate. Loves blogging, gadgets, video games and sports. You can follow him on Twitter @jaypee or Facebook.
Don't miss a single post and receive FREE updates on your email inbox. Subscribe NOW!

Enter your email address:

*Don't forget to verify your subscription by clicking the link on the email that Feedburner will send you.*

Didn't find what you're looking for? Try looking for it again.

Related Posts

Related Ads

























, , , ,

**Comments posted on JaypeeOnline are moderated. I reserve the right to edit/delete comments that contain words or phrases that are defamatory, abusive, incite hatred and advertise an email address, commercial services or spammy.


14 Responses to “BlueHost Phishing Email”

  1. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @loy – $8 for a year’s hosting? I would have done the same thing too. That’s too good an offer to pass up. :D

    Reply

  2. loy PHILIPPINES Opera Windows Says:

    Yes, I paid only $8 for the entire year. I was lucky enough to be one of those offered the promotion. During that time I didn’t have any money, but they were kind enough to wait for it. It was just too good to be passed up. :-)

    loys last blog post..Obama Doppelgangers on the Loose!

    Reply

  3. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @loy – 90% discount? wow, that’s a very good deal you got there. :D

    Reply

  4. loy PHILIPPINES Opera Windows Says:

    It costs $80 a year, but I got a 90% discount… hehe… :lol:

    loys last blog post..Obama Doppelgangers on the Loose!

    Reply

  5. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @loy – Oh I see. If its from your brother it should have been free. Hehe just kidding. Anyways, how much do the hosting packages cost at WPWebhost.com?

    Reply

  6. loy PHILIPPINES Opera Windows Says:

    Actually, I bought a hosting plan and domain name from my brother, so I don’t know the name of the company..hehe… That was before I discovered other web hosting plans with bigger space and bandwidth. I’m planning to transfer my site to WPWebHost.com after my brother changes the DNS info.

    loys last blog post..Obama Doppelgangers on the Loose!

    Reply

  7. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @loy – I see. So who’s your current hosting provider? If you don’t mind me asking.

    Reply

  8. loy PHILIPPINES Opera Windows Says:

    Yup, I used to be a Hostgator customer, but I stopped because it has become way too expensive for me… :lol:

    loys last blog post..Obama Doppelgangers on the Loose!

    Reply

  9. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @jhay – That’s true. Unfortunately, not all users are aware of that and aren’t savvy enough to distinguish a phishing email. It’s good to increase awareness about scams and phishing emails so more people would be aware of them and be more careful.

    Reply

  10. jhay PHILIPPINES Mozilla Firefox Windows Says:

    The .ru domain is a dead giveaway. Then again most are not aware of what phishing attacks are, it’s good to blog about this.

    jhays last blog post..US President Barack Obama’s Inaugural speech

    Reply

  11. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @loy – Hehe..I didn’t plan to blog about this, it just so happened that I read this email from the PBS mailing list and it involves BlueHost. So you’re hosting provider is HostGator? Have you received any phishing emails pretending to be from HostGator?

    Bout the cartoons, I just do a Google search for images that are related to what I’m blogging about and choose the ones that I like or are appropriate for the topic.

    Reply

  12. loy PHILIPPINES Opera Windows Says:

    Would have been more effective if it’s about Hostgator…hehe… By the way Jaypee, where did you get those cool cartoon pictures?

    loys last blog post..Win Cash and Entrecard Credits the Easy Way!

    Reply

  13. Jaypee UNITED STATES Mozilla Firefox Ubuntu Linux Says:

    @Jehzeel – I’m not sure I get it but what do you mean you updated? You updated your hosting account? Anyways, you’re welcome! ;)

    Reply

  14. Jehzeel Laurente PHILIPPINES Mozilla Firefox Windows Says:

    nag update ako kahit wala akong account sa kanila :D astig! haha :D thanks for sharing about this :)

    Jehzeel Laurentes last blog post..How to Find a Lost Phone Inside a Very Small Room?

    Reply

Don't Be Shy. Share your thoughts!

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like -

Phishers Target WordPress Plugin AuthorsPhishers Target WordPress Plugin AuthorsWith the popularity of WordPress (72 million+ WordPress-powered sites) its not a surprise to ...